Sprinkle Raspberry-filled Sandwich Cookies

sprinklesssss

If ever there was a cookie I’d pinned, bookmarked and revisited over and over and over before actually committing to the labor involved, this is it. When I tell you the number of site views I must have contributed to this recipe post, oy. It’s soaring somewhere near 30x, that’s for sure.

I had seen these gluten-free once on another site when I instantly became curious about them. But that gluten-free blog post disappeared (though I know I should have pinned it) and I luckily found the original. I have to say, I’ll come back to that gluten-free recipe (or making these gf on my own) another day, because holy crap I’m almost a pro at these now and I’m up for the challenge!

vanilla sprinkles sandwich cookies (cut into hearts) + dusting of sugar on top + real raspberry frosting 

IMG_0872

OY. I tried making these several times, and as the recipe creator says, you have your work cut out for you, so space it out over days if you can. You’ll definitely be working for hours on end if you don’t. Patience is rewarded if you get all the cookies done one day, then frost the next. I’m also left with a few hunks of left over scraps (despite re-rolling the dough a few times) and I’ll probably bake them as a crumb topping for other desserts. You’ve been warned that they’re pretty versatile and once you get used to working with the slightly crumbly dough, you might want to go ballistic with shapes and make these all of the time because they’re so impressive in real life.

Can I tell you how perfect these are? They’re seriously the most adorable cookies I’ve ever made. I just bought a teeny tiny butterfly cookie cutter, and I’m brimming with excitement to try that and to be awestruck by their cuteness.

I made my frosting raspberry flavored instead of strawberry like in the original recipe because I’m not a fan of ’em, but I would imagine most berries would work great. You could probably also use some finely grated orange zest/lemon zest and a bit of the extract to make a citrus filling instead. ‘sup to you.

IMG_0861

Recipe from Namely Marly:

Sprinkled Cookies: 

  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup Earth Balance margarine, softened
  • ¼ cup Earth Balance Coconut Spread, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 egg replacers (I used Ener-G)
  • 2 ½ cups all purpose unbleached flour
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ⅓ cup multi-colored candy sprinkles (I used Lieber’s Non-Pareils)
  • ⅓ cup sugar for decorating (optional)

Frosting:

  • ¾ cup Earth Balance margarine, softened (do not melt)
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 strawberry/raspberry/blueberry (fresh or frozen, mashed)
  1. Preheat oven to 350° and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Start your cookies off by incorporating your sugar and your margarines together with a mixer until smooth. Add in your vanilla and your egg replacers, then mix until everything is combined and allow to rest for a bit.
  3. In a separate large bowl, mix together your dry ingredients. The original recipe says to level your ingredients off when you measure so that they’re completely accurate, so be sure to level everything out.
  4. Add the margarine mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Add your sprinkles and mix. *I find that overmixing makes the colors of the sprinkles bleed, aside from also forming more gluten, thus resulting in a tougher cookie. I just folded them in a few times and then pressed remainder in the dough.
  5. Wrap dough in plastic wrap in the shape of a disc or place into a gallon-sized freezer bag, pressing to force out any air. Let rest in fridge for an hour, or until the time you want to roll cookies out.
  6. Let dough sit at room temperature for a few minutes when you’re ready to roll it out so that you can roll it much more easily.
  7. Lightly flour surface, rolling pin and cutters and roll dough out to about 1/8″ thickness. This is tricky if your dough is crumbly like mine was, but pressing down gently on dough to force crumbs back together helps.
  8. Cut cookies, and place on parchment-lined sheets. Sprinkle tops with some sugar, if using.
  9. Bake cookies for 8-9 minutes (recipe says 5-6 minutes but baked at this time my cookies were still too soft after sitting on trays for 10 minutes) or until they become slightly golden at the edges. After about 5 minutes on trays, move cookies to cooling racks to cool completely.
  10. Prepare the frosting. Whip the margarine in a mixer until soft.
  11. Add the powdered sugar slowly until all of it is incorporated.
  12. Mix in vanilla and mashed berry and beat until mixed well. Now you’re ready to frost!
  13. When cookies have all been baked and cooled, frost one cookie and top with another, pressing gently to force some of the frosting to the edges of the cookie. Careful not to use too much or it’ll ooze out!
  14. Enjoy!

IMG_0876

Leave a Reply

