Vegan Double Chocolate Donuts [Vegan Mofo Day 8]

photo 4 (20)
Sup y’alls? I’ve been busy around here between a funked up work schedule, visiting my mom and siblings, and just general life (a.k.a. being tired and passing out on my couch). However, I’ve been able to make some good eats lately and I wanted to share with you one that I made before I went out to see the little mister, my brother, who loves anything chocolate.

Whenever I visit my brother, I try to bring him something with chocolate. His favorites to date are the chocolate-covered marshmallows, the chocolate chip cookies, and once I made him oatmeal chocolate chip cookies on a whim that he liked. But oh… he’s such a finicky eater that sometimes it’s best to just ask him what he wants instead of guessing, and even then! Even then he won’t tell you, he’ll make you guess because he doesn’t know. It’s really not his fault. He just likes lots of specific things and can’t pick just one.

When he asked me recently to make him chocolate donuts, I took the idea and ran with it. I was heading out to work but I *just* remembered to make them before leaving this morning.

We negotiated toppings before I went to task. Glaze like Krispy Kreme or hard crunchy chocolate shell? Easy. Chocolate shell. But then again, the glaze sounds good too… and in a twist of fate I ended up with only enough chocolate to melt for half a batch. Sounds like it was just meant to be, I guess. I glazed the second half of the tiny batch when I got home from work and rushed to get on the train home as soon as I could.

Thankfully, something in me said not to put sprinkles on all of them. I JUST remembered he dislikes sprinkles, and being a self-professed connoisseur of all things small and rainbow (or chocolate as the case may be) I fought the urge to over-do it. Two still ended up with some sprinkles, but I think he might let that slide.

photo 2 (21) photo 3 (18)This recipe was googled on a whim but it was really good! Half of them have glaze, and the other half have ganache. 

Vegan Chocolate Donuts (taken from Brooklyn Farm Girl)

  • 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup water
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray your donut pan with nonstick spray.
  2. Stir together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.
  3. Add oil, vanilla and water and continue to stir untl smooth.
  4. Pour into donut pan and bake 10-12 minutes.

Sorry for the crappy phone pics! I need to bake during the daytime…

Leave a Reply

