Vegan Mofo: Sweets Edition and a Pudding Pie Recipe

photo 1 (11)

Epic Whipped Cream Topping done by the boyfriend! ::Applause::

I have been up to a lot of baking recently. I’m going to save the photos for when I show you the process behind the recipes I share with you, but I want to update before the close of Vegan Mofo Day 1, to lock in my participation. I’ve been antsy every year about participating but the more I knew about it, the more anxiety I got about it and the less I did about it, so like everything else that matters, I have learned to do it the last minute! Procrastination may not be the ultimate solution to anxiety, but sometimes it helps me function and produce something better. Sometimes, timing doesn’t allow me to procrastinate nor get anxious, so I’ve found myself the day of vegan Mofo beginning (okay, technically it started yesterday) quite content that I’ve serendipitously planned to test out a new savory recipe (which you can read about on my other blog, The Flavorful Pursuit) and that I had a dessert planned. Things are finally looking up!

When I was around 13 or 14, almost every other week or so, my mom would make us this pie. Damn, this pie. As with most good things, it’s uncomplicated, swift to prepare, and could utilize something store bought or could be completely made from scratch, which I don’t think my mom ever did, but it was still amazing anyway.

photo 3 (11)

In my ninth grade public speaking class, we had an instructive speech to do as an assignment. I can’t remember if other people came up with their idea as quickly as I did, but from the get-go I knew I wanted to make something from scratch so I did. And guess what I made in the front of my class and my teacher? I brought in these Scooby-Doo graham crackers, mashed them in front of my class with a spoon, make instant Jell-o pudding, and made homemade whipped cream topping in front of my 15 classmates with a fork, glass bowl and heavy cream. Admittedly, it didn’t feel so amazing when I was up there, but my teacher gave me an A+ because he was impressed with the effort. I think he felt bad for making a comment about bacon in front of me, a self-proclaimed animal rights (in)activist, a situation he continued to think I hated him for (which I never did, but he seemed to be sensitive about it because he said this stuff to his veggie wife). Either way, I got an A on this assignment in a class I had been confused about, while doing something I’d be doing at home if I had cut class (ha- who cuts class to make pie? ME.)

My sister would make this pie with a regular pie crust for Thanksgiving one year when she was living with a friend, and it rocked my world even more. I love flaky pie crust, and that just did it for me! I don’t think anyone else was interested in it nearly as much as I was. It had whipped cream perfectly piled high atop the pudding/mousse layer, and chocolate shavings done bakery-style. I was mightily impressed. She’s always had a good hand in baking and cooking, which I think she still utilizes between being totally bad-ass paving parking lots and lifting heavy bags of cement and concrete with a bunch of guys who fear her. I’m only half-kidding about that last part.

Anyway, without further ado, my secret weapon on a busy day when I have a can of coconut cream chilling in the fridge. And, of course, sprinkles are involved!

Chocolate Pudding Pie with Whipped Cream

One batch of Chocolate Pudding, Recipe Below

1 Wholly Wholesome Graham Cracker Pie Crust

1 batch of Coconut Whipped Cream, Recipe Below (although you probably don’t need one with how popular it is these days!)

Chocolate Sprinkles (optional, unless you’re like me)

Chocolate Pudding

1/4 Cornstarch

1/8 tsp Salt

1/3 Cup + 1 TBSP Sugar

1/3 Cup Cocoa Powder

2 Cup Unsweetened Soy or Almond Milk

1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

1/8 tsp Almond Extract, optional

Coconut Whipped Cream

1 Can of Coconut Cream (I used Trader Joe’s brand) that has been chilled for 8 hours or more

1 TBSP Powdered Sugar

1/2 – 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

1. Mix together dry ingredients in a small saucepan.

2. Add Soy/Almond Milk over low/medium heat, stirring with a fork or whisk to break up lumps.

3. Stir occasionally to continue breaking lumps and to keep pudding consistency smooth, for 10-12 minutes, when pudding will begin to thicken.

4. Once the pudding starts to thicken, stir more frequently. Add the vanilla extract and almond extract if using and keep cooking an additional 2-3 minutes until you get your desired consistency.

5. This next step is super important: Run pudding through a sieve or a fine mesh strainer to break up any remaining lumps. Skipping this step will mean your pudding will have tiny lumps throughout, which might not work if you’re trying to impress somebody, or yourself  ;).

6. Pour pudding into the pie shell and chill for 3-4 hours until firm.

7. Next, whip up your coconut whipped cream: Scoop the solid, white cream of a can of coconut cream into a bowl, making sure the bowl is completely dry and that you only get the cream and avoid the remaining milk in the can. In the standing mixer or with a hand mixer, whip the cream on high speed for 5 minutes using a whisk attachment, scraping sides down periodically.

8. After 5 minutes, your cream should be pretty light and fluffy. Add your powdered sugar (sifted if it’s lumpy) and your vanilla to taste, then whip for another 30 seconds to incorporate.

9. Top your pie with the whipped cream, using your spoon to create swirls and peaks. Then, top with chocolate sprinkles and serve, or keep chilled in the fridge until served.

photo 1 (12)

I think there’s something missing here…

output_QYEOQz

In the words of Will Ferrell “More Sprinkles!” (or something like that.)

photo 4 (14)

Leave a Reply

