Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

I want to apologize in advance for this one— I was in a rush when I made them and didn’t have much time to photograph… Gulp. I mean, I didn’t have any and I’m sorry you didn’t get to see them because they were a sight. I will be making them again as requested, so I think you’ll be seeing them soon.

I’m not much into simple things these days, especially no food-induced nostalgia of eating simple classic foods. So when it comes time to make things for people who like the classics, I’m inclined to want to add something to it. I’ve apparently never heard of the idiom “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it.”

*I want to fix all the things.*

I was invited to trivia night at my boyfriend’s office, and I wanted to bring something. It was a pizza and liquor/beer affair but it seemed only right to have that classic there for everyone, because other people like the simple stuff that I don’t.

In part, I think my desire not to want to make the classics anymore is that for one, they are so saturated in the market that people tend not to find them special. Even worse; if you make it wrong, everybody knows. It may also have something to do with that time I thought I was a special genius and made these beautiful (to me) chocolate chip cookies of my dreams, brought them to a job interview in a kitchen I respected to show my chops, and was never reached out to even with a ‘thanks for your interest’… You better do something interesting for the future, girl. I thought to myself, as I vowed never to make those cookies for anything important again. I mean, I make them for my best friend who LOVES them, and who I gave the recipe to while she is away in Peru and without access to vegan butters to use, so I reserve this recipe for special people who I know already like it.

On a whim, I picked up Phoney Baloney’s coconut bacon. I’m not a big vegan shortcut person. I make my own sprinkles, want to make my own extracts, and want to basically have a from-scratch kitchen as far down the line as I can once I reach a certain age. But, these coconut bacon bits are pretty good. Take that with a grain of salt if you must, it comes from someone who hasn’t had real bacon in 20+ years. They give these cookies some smokiness and add some interesting flavor/crunch.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 batch Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough from Oh She Glows (minus the cinnamon)

1/2 cup Coconut Bacon, large pieces broken down (I used the handle of a spoon to break up pieces in a bowl)

Large coconut bacon pieces to top, optional

Parchment Paper-lined baking sheets

1. Prepare dough as instructed.

2. Fold in coconut bacon until evenly distributed.

3. Spoon roughly tablespoon-sized dough onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper

4. Top with large pieces or several crushed pieces of coconut bacon, pressing in gently into dough to make it stick.

5. In a 350 degree oven, bake cookies for 12 minutes, then remove from the oven and leave on trays for 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

