Gluten-Free Confetti Cookies

ImageSince I love all things involving sprinkles, I decided to incorporate them into a cookie to complete the fiesta vibe I look for whenever I indulge in a dessert. Which, quite frankly, is on the daily. Indulgence status: nullified. I am made mostly out of sprinkles, cakes, and cookies at this point.

I started out with thinking of what kind of cookie this could be, whether shortbread or a butter cookie or something like a chocolate chip cookie base? Oil or butter? Sprinkles or food dye? I didn’t go full-on, glittery disco-fever, unicorn poop with them, but there are always other times to do that. I’m halfway there; just as there are always sprinkles in my dessert, there are always conspicuous flecks of glitter somewhere on my face, like party camouflage, minus the party.

Without further ado, these are vegan, gluten-free confetti cookies:

Gluten-Free Confetti Cookies

  • 1 Cup + 1 TBSP Arrowhead Farms Gluten-Free Baking Mix
  • 1 TBSP Tapioca Starch
  • 2 TBSP Brown Rice Flour
  • 1/4 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 Ener-G Egg (1 1/2 tsp Mix + 2 TBSP water)
  • 1/2 cup or 1 Vegan Buttery Stick
  • 1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 tsp Almond Extract or 1/4 tsp Lemon Extract (almond makes the cookies slightly sweeter, lemon makes the flavor brighter)
  1. Preheat Oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Cream margarine until fluffy, then add powdered sugar.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix dry ingredients and add to the margarine.
  4. Add Ener-G egg and mix until combined, then add extracts and mix.
  5. Add in your sprinkles and mix just until incorporated evenly.
  6. Drop tablespoons of dough onto the prepared baking sheet(s).
  7. Bake for 10 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven and allow cookies to rest for 5 minutes on the tray, then move to a cookie rack.

They are still slightly crumbly, but they’re getting there. I’m figuring out baking gluten-free still.

Leave a comment